top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Wischnewski

Chapter 5: MUN@UWC and Culturama

I kicked off November with another Model United Nation Conference, short MUN. I have been to two of these Conferences in Germany before, we, the delegates, take over a countries position and debate in a committee with other delegates about current topics which are dealt with by the UN. Illicit trade of arms, safeguarding pregnant women in LEDCs or rehabilitating child soldiers in conflict zones - mostly our debates are highly political and can sometimes lead to a war declaration by Russia against the USA, but that only happens rarely :). While debating these issues, we follow a strict UN procedure, it starts with formal dress code - all guys attend in suits- and is filled with motions, speeches and our end goal: writing a resolution ( a solution to the topic) that is passed by the Committee.


At the MUN@UWC, which was held at my campus, I was the delegate of the Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea (North Korea) which is not really the easiest to start with. Being in the Advisory Panel Question Committee where we talked about Chinese Human Right abuses with the focus on the treatment of Uighur Muslims, Chinese prisons and the process of foreign journalists does not make it easier.

The conference lasted for three days, in that time I was the right hand of China, we wrote a resolution, held speeches, argued with most of the western countries, eventually everything that they said was put under "western propaganda", and tried to deny the human rights violations going on in both of our delegation countries. The whole event was a lot of fun and I met a lot of amazing people from all over Singapore.


And in the following week, the biggest event of the year happened: Culturama. Culturama is a huge live show where around 15 dances from all over the world are presented by high school students from our school. Culturama is the only thing that people talk about from the beginning of the school year until the very last performance. I decided not to audition for any of the dances, although it was the first year where Germany was one of the dances. However, I still could not escape the Culturama Craziness, since I am part of the Music Department here at the school, mostly as a normal IB student, we had the task to accompany some of the songs with live music.


At the beginning of the show, our group did a little drumming performance, which was a lot of fun. During the show the band accompanied many songs, our group of four singers sang for New Zealand, Italy and did one performance in a little break between the dances. Before the german dance, I performed a solo of the song "ich lass fuer Dich das Licht an" by Revolverheld, I had never performed in front of an audience like that, around 400 people fit into our auditorium. In the first show, I felt really uncomfortable, singing with live music is completely different from prerecorded audio and with that came my stage frightening, my first performance was definitely not the best. However, I could feel myself becoming more and more comfortable on stage during the three shows that we had in total. I realised that the live music was there to support me and once I got settled in with the other musicians it began to make a lot of fun!


The whole show was an amazing experience and I am very grateful to be part of a community where cultural differences are celebrated in such a manner!

62 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page