top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Wischnewski

Chapter 8: Christmas Break

The last weeks before our long-awaited Christmas break were very exhausting, everybody was excited to go home and have a relaxing break from school. I had different plans compared to most of the scholars and boarders. I decided to stay in Singapore over Christmas, I was able to spend the first week of the break with Rebecca's family. Rebecca's daughter Valentina is part of my K1 buddy class; a group of students I visit several times a month to spend some time with and do fun activities. That's how I got to know the family, they were kind enough to host me at their house for a week. It was indeed a great experience. We spend a lot of time together outside in the botanic gardens or visiting some very Singaporean sights such as the flower dome and cloud garden. Rebecca's family is vegan, our Christmas meal and other dishes were delicious, and I was able to steal some recipes. I am very grateful to have spent the week with her family; it was definitely a nice change to the boarding house, and I was able to have a look into the everyday lives of a UWC day student's family.


Then, on the 29th of December, I made my way to the airport to truly get some holiday adventures. My first stop was Cebu City, Philippines. From there on I took a three-hour bus over the mountains to get to Moalboal, a beautiful region on the west coast of Cebu. I arrived at around 1 am, my host Jeff and his wife were picking me up and driving me to the house. I was staying in a little cottage in their garden, it was lovely, and my hosts were very friendly.

I spend most of my time underwater, enjoying the beautiful coral landscapes and up to seven turtles per dive. One highlight was definitely the vast sardines school at white beach, an attraction Moalboal is known for. I met some fantastic people in the Philippines with whom I spend my New Year's Eve and some of the following evenings.

The most impactful thing I got to discover while travelling on my through the Philippines is the incredible kindness of the people. Whether it was at the airport, the very confusing and not very touristic bus interchange or the local market, Filipinos are always courteous and ready to help. Being able to have trips like these and making so many new and impactful experiences is something I am so grateful for. Next to academics, I am learning so many essential life skills that will last me a lifetime.

All in all, it was a fantastic trip. It was good to escape the IB stress and just lay in the sun a little and get to know so many interesting and lovely people. However, now with only three months until our important Grade 11 Exams, I am diving deep into schoolwork rather than coral reefs. Still, there is always Christmas Break 2020 :).

45 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page